Dist. GENERAL

30 September 2021

English only

Conference on Facilitating the Entry into Force of the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty 23-24 September 2021

CREDENTIALS OF REPRESENTATIVES TO THE CONFERENCE ON FACILITATING THE ENTRY INTO FORCE OF THE COMPREHENSIVE NUCLEAR-TEST-BAN TREATY

Report of the Credentials Committee

- 1. At its first plenary meeting, on 24 September 2021, the Twelfth Conference on Facilitating the Entry into Force of the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty (hereinafter called "the Conference"), in accordance with rule 4 of its rules of procedure, established a Credentials Committee and appointed as members of the Committee the representatives of the following five ratifying States: Canada, Ireland, Kenya, Namibia and the Netherlands.
- 2. The Credentials Committee held its meeting on 24 September 2021.
- 3. Ambassador Mr Eoin O'Leary, Permanent Representative of Ireland to the CTBTO, was unanimously elected Chairperson of the Committee. Ms Semra Turkovic of the Provisional Technical Secretariat of the Preparatory Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization served as Secretary of the Committee.
- 4. The Committee had before it a memorandum by the Secretariat of the Conference, dated 24 September 2021, concerning the credentials of representatives of States to the Conference. As recalled in paragraph 3 of the Secretariat's memorandum, rule 3 of the rules of procedure of the Conference has been amended, further to document CTBT-Art.XIV/2021/1/Add.1, to permit issuance of credentials by the Permanent Representations of ratifying States, on an exceptional basis, and without establishing any precedent, due to the special circumstances caused by COVID-19.
- 5. As noted in paragraph 1 of the Secretariat's memorandum and the statement of the officer relating thereto, formal credentials in the form required by rule 3 of the rules of procedure of the Conference, as amended, had, as of the time of the meeting of the Credentials Committee, been received by the Secretariat, in respect of their representatives to the Conference, from the following 33 States that, prior to the opening of the Conference, had deposited their instruments of ratification of the Treaty: Albania, Andorra, Armenia,

Belgium, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Hungary, Indonesia, Ireland, Japan, the Lao People's Democratic Republic, Malaysia, Montenegro, Morocco, the Netherlands, North Macedonia, Norway, the Philippines, the Republic of Korea, the Russian Federation, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, the Sudan, Thailand and Turkey.

- 6. As noted in paragraph 2 of the Secretariat's memorandum, information concerning the appointment of their representatives to the Conference had, as of the time of the meeting of the Credentials Committee, been communicated to the Secretariat by means of a letter or note verbale or a facsimile thereof from a permanent representation, embassy or other government office by the following 26 States that, prior to the opening of the Conference, had deposited their instruments of ratification of the Treaty: Argentina, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Cuba, Eswatini, Guatemala, Iceland, Kenya, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Mexico, Namibia, Panama, Paraguay, Poland, Serbia, Spain, Togo, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and Uruguay.
- 7. The Chairperson recommended that the Committee accept the credentials of the representatives of all of the States mentioned in paragraphs 5 and 6 above.
- 8. On the proposal of the Chairperson, the Committee adopted the following draft resolution:

"The Credentials Committee,

Having examined the credentials of the representatives to the Conference on Facilitating the Entry into Force of the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty of the signatory States referred to in paragraphs 5 to 6 of its report,

Accepts the credentials of the representatives of the States concerned."

- 9. The draft resolution proposed by the Chairperson was adopted without a vote.
- 10. The Chairperson then proposed that the Committee recommend to the plenary of the Conference the adoption of a draft resolution (see paragraph 12). The proposal was adopted without a vote.
- 11. In light of the above, the present report is submitted to the Conference.

RECOMMENDATION OF THE CREDENTIALS COMMITTEE

12. The Credentials Committee recommends to the Conference the adoption of the following draft resolution:

"Credentials of representatives to the Conference on Facilitating the Entry into Force of the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty held on 23-24 September 2021

The Conference on Facilitating the Entry into Force of the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty, Having considered the report of the Credentials Committee and the recommendation contained therein,

Adopts the report of the Credentials Committee."